DEBATE: ARE THE CHILDREN DEPRIVED FROM THE CITY ADVENTURES BY THE CARS?

Last year I asked myself the question: ARE THE CHILDREN DEPRIVED FROM THE CITY ADVENTURES BY THE CARS?

I had a feature published in the local newspaper calling for a fair distribution of space among different ways of commuting; cars, busses, bikes and walking people and kids. I made the point, that every time we increase the area for cars, we also deprive children their space of opportunities. I put it this way:

“My oldest son has finally reached an age where he moves freely in the city, and I now realize the freedom and adventure it offers. If the city was arranged just a little differently, he would have earned this freedom at an earlier age and the adventures of  the alley and city streets will be present in a completely different way.”

Later I doubted if this is true, because the car offers movement and a kind of freedom for everybody – also kids. I’m in doubt. Follow the links and please comment on social media. I’m very interested in your thoughts on this issue?

 

1481869_barn-trafikwebb
Featured photo: University of Gothenburg

 


Leave a Reply

